• Dkemens
  • Dkemens's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
1 year 1 month ago - 1 year 1 month ago #5244 by Dkemens
Dkemens created the topic: 87 ip27 head conversion

Hello fellow Ipyo!

A bit of an introduction; I'm brand new here. I just purchased my ip27 about a month ago. My wife and I have no prior sailing experience, but I've been an armchair sailor for some time. The island packet has always been something of a dream, so I'm very proud to call Jolly Mon (Kent Island, Md) my first boat. She's solid, sturdy, and forgiving as long as the wind is stronger than the current.

To the heart of the matter...

She had the original aluminum, welded holding tank she was launched with. I'll attach pictures of that unfortunate situation. Needless to say, parts were rotten out and sewerage has, for who knows how long, been flowing in to the holding tank and then directly in to the head cabinet (under the faucet) and out the shower drain. The smell was something else.

I've ripped that beast out and done away with the kra[p]ken. I'm thankful for my newly found storage space (and thankful it's no longer however many gallons of excrement). My plans are to remove the head entirely and replace it with a composting airhead toilet.

I'm a software engineer - so concepts like "loosely coupled" and "non breaking" (as in, if it goes, it doesn't affect anything else) resonate throughout all facets of my life. The airhead meets those requirements.

My two unknowns are this:
1. Where can I find the seacock for the head pump? I haven't seen it yet and I don't want to disconnect things prior to knowing how to stop the flow of water into my boat. Perhaps under the head?