Lightning protection and grounding system for IP 27

More
7 years 7 months ago #5117 by gero
Hello everyone!
I unstepped the mast of my IP 27 to rewire and change the wind transducer, and renew the VHF antenna. I read in the manual that all Island Packets come with a grounding system that connect the mast to the plates and down the engine and shaft, which is great. However, after removing the mast I haven't seen anything alike; is it connected to the mast step? Has anybody seen it?
I'm new to Florida, and am quite scared of lightnings... I got trapped in a squall two months ago with lightning all around me, it wasn't fun at all....
Any help is appreciated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 7 months ago #5118 by Emergpa1
there should be a green wire (cable) attached to the mast plate at the base of the mast.
I'm with you, I think lightening is the thing that gets me most nervous. To get control of my fear I remind myself that if I do get struck, and it's fatal, I'll never know what hit me.There one moment, gone the next. Considering all the ways I might leave this world, a fatal lightening strike has got to be one of the better. It sounds rather ridiculous, but it works for me.
The following user(s) said Thank You: gero

More
7 years 7 months ago #5120 by hayden
Geronimo

The mast is grounded also by the shrouds and stays which connects to the chain plates which are connected to the grounding green wires. I had the IP 27 for 10 years and I do not recall a wire on the step plate. So, your mast is grounded.

Hayden

Hayden Cochran
IP35-165 Island Spirit
IslandSpirit35.blogspot.com
Rock Hall, MD
The following user(s) said Thank You: gero

More
7 years 7 months ago #5137 by gjones04
Geronimo,